The frescoed cycles of the 14th century

Cappella degli Scrovegni


With the proclamation on Saturday, 24 July, 2021 in Fuzhou, China, the serial site "The frescoed cycles of the 14th century" was declared a World Heritage Site, bringing the number of Venetian sites awarded UNESCO recognition to 9.

It is a complex of eight monuments in the historic centre of Padua, inside which frescoed cycles by Giotto, Guariento, Giusto de' Menabuoi, Altichiero da Zevio, Jacopo Avanzi and Jacopo da Verona are preserved.

Unique places that recount the story of the "painted" Padua of the fourteenth century:

  • Scrovegni Chapel
  • Church of the Saints Philip and James agli Eremitani
  • Palazzo della Ragione
  • Cathedral Baptistery
  • Chapel of the Carrarese Palace
  • Basilica and the Convent of the Saint
  • Oratory of Saint George
  • Oratory of Saint Michael

Visit the website